Self-Help? Inspiring? Whatevs…

This is the story of a writer, who woke up one morning and realized that she had to try harder in life, or wither away among other dissatisfied mortals, quietly choking.

It all began when I lost my job. I’ll call it Store, a major corporate retail department store where dreams go to die. But Store isn’t important here. It was a means to an end, something to pay the bills, like most jobs. It wasn’t all bad though. At Store, I learned about sales and marketing, the skills of which I applied to…

Losing my job was a godsend. Finally, my chance to follow my dream of becoming Ms. Big Shot Author! I would send out query letters to literary agents, get them to read (and love) my novel, and that would be that. Easy peasy.

maxresdefault
I mean, like, how hard can it be?

Turns out, it is extremely hard. Lots and lots and lots of hard work, not the I-work-eighty-hours-a-week sort of hard work, more like I-have-to-write-research-and-prepare-and-have-the-patience-and-perseverance-of-a-saint sort of hard work.

I faced various conundrums…

Will I be able to afford to wait for this dream of mine to come to pass? After all, I have bills to pay, responsibilities to attend to (thank God I’m not married with children, though my mother would disagree with that), and a thankless and frowning society to please. I wouldn’t want to be just another delusional person waiting for the impossible to happen, am I right? Am I right?

I wrote my novel three years ago. Then I put it away, revised it, put it away again, then I revised it some more. I did what Stephen King and scores of other authors have advised. Revise, revise, revise. Store away, store away, store away. Seek a professional editor. Attend conferences and groups. I’ve played by the rules. And now, my manuscript is tied up in a neat pink bow, ready for prime time. And then I wrote another novel. Then another one. I wanted to keep practicing, find my voice. Find my story. And then I found it. I have written the manuscript version of The One.

giphy
OMG… Yay!

And then more hard work.

I faced many obstacles. I call them “emotional obstacles.” I was my own worst enemy. I went through some tried and true periods, with some impressive level of success, but I cannot discuss any of it here. I made some hard decisions. And then I got over it. I just kept at it. If I am going to do something, I am going to do it right. I now work in education, but that isn’t it for me. I am also a writer. I will continue to push for that.

e75db99b8958bfa532895e455e27c482
This is soooo true!

I am being shopped around. Too early to say what will happen next, but things are going well, and I cannot discuss it anyway. Needless to say, I wanted to be my boss, be in charge of my own professional destiny, write wonderful novels, head out of my pretty brownstone and walk to the nearest café, start a new day and a new chapter (not metaphorically, as in literally start a new book chapter). Things are happening. I am more than halfway there, and this makes me happy. I have an awesome agent that’s kickass and driven.

All I can say is, thank you, Store, for pressuring me into doing something stupid, and then firing me. You do build careers… for those fortunate and brave enough to leave you.

7 thoughts on “Self-Help? Inspiring? Whatevs…

Leave a Reply

